The C-cret to a Creme Brulee Tart

12545308_1287684834580472_1588195424_n

Follow Baking Saturdays on Instagram for all your drooling needs 🙂

Want to make something that sounds fancy, but is actually really easy? Channel your inner French Monsieur or Madam and get ready to burn things in the name of class.

Hello there baking fans!

Thank you for tuning in to another episode of, let’s make my ass bigger! Or as it’s more commonly known, my baking blog 🙂

For those of you who don’t know, this year I am baking my way through the alphabet in an attempt to challenge myself and fatten up my friends. If you like that idea, you can read more about it riiiiighhhttt here.

So far we have had:

A- Apple Custard Pie
B- Buttered Rum Brownies
and now….

C- Creme Brulee Tart

For letter C I couldn’t resist some creme brulees, but because I’m a big girl who can make her own choices I crammed all the custarded goodness into a tart.

I wish I had a fun story to go with this recipe, but I don’t. The blow torch came with a whole bunch of baking toys that I got for Christmas, so this was my excuse to use it to burn something useful for once.

Now before you get scared and run for the hills because, sweet jesus is french baking hard- THIS ONE IS NOT!
All it calls for is a shortbread pastry crust and an exuberant amount of creme patisserie. Oh and some extra sugar and some fire.

Let’s have fun burning something on purpose for once guys.
READY
SET
BRULEE!

Do you Pinterest? It's never a bad time to start 🙂

Creme Brulee Tart

Ingredients
Blind baked tarte crust
7 egg yolks
75g caster sugar
25g plain flour
4 tsp corn flour
500ml full cream milk
1 tsp vanilla essence
Extra caster sugar for burning

Method

  1. So to start off I made my shortbread crust using this Scottish Shortbread recipe, but instead of slicing the dough into biscuits, I pressed it into a tart tin and baked it for 20 minutes on 160C.
  2. Put the milk and vanilla in a large saucepan and bring to a slow boil, allowing to simmer for 5 minutes.
  3. Blanch the eggs and sugar until they’re pale in colour and large in size (hey look it’s my thighs).
  4. Let the milk mixture cool while you stir the flours in with the eggs.
  5. Pour the warm milk in to the egg yolks slowly, whisking constantly!
    When combined pour the mixture back in to the saucepan and return it to medium heat, stirring until the creme pat thickens.
  6. Pour this into a clean bowl and cover with cling wrap.
    Make sure the cling wrap is touching the surface of the creme to prevent a skin from forming.
  7. Cool in the fridge for about an hour.
  8. Pour or pipe the creme pat in to the tart case and return to the fridge to set for another hour.
  9. About 20 minutes before serving, sprinkle an even coating of caster sugar over the top if the creme and get that blow torch out!
  10. Now blast that sugar until it cracks under the pressure and caramelises.
  11. Allow the tarte to sit on the bench for about 15 minutes before slicing. The heat from the blow torch will cause the creme to liquify slightly, but it will set once again when it’s cool.
  12. Now throw your beret and striped shirt on and serve that shit up you cultured thing you!

AND…

That’s it. See, not that hard is it 🙂

Thanks again for reading my majestic sugar coated unicorns! If you liked this recipe or found me slightly entertaining give me a shout in the comments or FOLLOW ME!
I swear I won’t think you’re a stalker.

I’m always on the look out for new bloggers to follow too, so if you have some baking prowess let me know down below and I’ll check you out 😉

Happy Baking!

2 thoughts on “The C-cret to a Creme Brulee Tart

Leave a Reply

