B-B-Buttered Rum Brownies

 


These brownies are melt-in-your-mouth fudge, covered in a tender cake with the perfect crisp on the top. I would take them to Vegas, buy them a ring and live
with them happily ever after if I could be trusted not to devour them in a crime of passion.

Screenshot_2016-01-31-09-23-52-1
Follow my Baking Saturday Instagram 🙂 Guaranteed to sometimes make you hungry

Also known as the easiest and most flavourful brownie I have ever eaten

I know right, them be fighting words. But they honestly are AH-MAAAH-ZING. I mean just look at that flaky crust at the top! And don’t you go saying that you can’t see how dense and fudgy that centre is.  But hey, don’t take my word for it just listen to these customer testimonials.

Mum- “Are you baking again? Don’t we have enough sweets?”

Adam- “I accidentally ate a piece before you took photos, don’t hate me.”

There you have it folks! Pure, unadulterated PROOF from an unbiased audience…
But in all seriousness, everyone I gave one of these to immediately asked when I was going to be making them again. So it looks like soon is the answer!

 

Side note

These brownies travel really well too!
We got ourselves a kayak on the
weekend and took a batch out for
energy snacks.
Needless to say- none returned.

Anyway… Here’s the back story

For those of you who don’t know, I am currently baking my way through the alphabet. You can read about my inspiration here or check out my A+ Apple Custard Pie recipe here!

I’m a big Harry Potter fan and so is the rest of my family, so over Christmas I had vowed to make us Butterbeer to sip on around the tree. In my search to find a boozy HP themed cocktail I stumbled across Martha’s Buttered Rum recipe.

I have a lot of great memories surrounding mulled wine and other warm, spiced alcohol from me and the Kitten Dad’s travels around Europe. It was always something that I wanted to incorporate into my baking but I hadn’t gotten around to doing it, until now!

     Screenshot_2016-01-31-09-25-12-1       Screenshot_2016-01-31-09-21-31-1
If you like it, you gotta put a pin on it! *cough* pin me!

And I’m so glad that I took the plunge and tried something different. The rum and the spices just add another level to this recipe! It sounds super cheesy, but these actually taste like love to me.

They warm you from the inside out and when I’m eating one, well I’m pretty much shut off from everything else around me.
That’s probably just me being sentimental, but at the very least, these chocolatley squares taste like Christmas!

Enough of that sop story, now on to the recipe!

Buttered Rum Brownies

Ingredients
200g chocolate
200g butter
3 eggs
2 egg yolks
1 1/4 C caster sugar
3/4 C plain flour
1/3 C coca powder
1 tsp rum essence
60ml dark rum
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 a lemon zested

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 160 C and line a square brownie tin (mine is 25 x 25 and this recipe fills it perfectly).
  2. Throw your chocolate, butter and rum in a heat proof bowl and melt it all together using the double boiler method.
    Be careful here because the butter makes mesmerizing whirlpools and if you’re like me and sneaked a shot of rum before adding it to the mixture… it can be very distracting.
  3. Leave the chocolate mixture to cool and sift together the flour, cocoa and spices in a separate bowl.
  4. In yet another bowl, crack your eggs and add the sugar. Now ladies and gentleman it is time to whip, whip (and nae nae?). Whisk that shiz until it’s semi blanched. So the mixture should get slightly larger and lighten significantly. If you prefer a cakier brownie then by all means keep on whisking those eggs until they double in size, you’ll just end up with more cake around the edges and a tad less fudge in the middle. 🙂
  5. Combine all 3 mixtures together. I go eggs into dry mixture and then chocolate in to that but it’s not really important.
  6. Last, but my God not least! Zest your lemon into the mixture and add your rum essence before stirring to allow these to distribute evenly throughout the mixture.
  7. Pour the batter into your prepared brownie tin and put it in the oven for around 45-50 minutes. The brownies are done when crumbs cling to the skewer.
  8. Allow to cool for about 15 minutes before slicing.

And that my friends is that! Now you can sit back and allow yourself to fall into the gooey comfort of these Jack Sparrow approved* brownies.

Thank you for reading my sugar coated unicorns! If you like what you read give me a shout and follow the blog.

If you give any of my recipes a try let me know, I would love to see how you went and whether we will have to duel for our brownie’s affections.

Happy baking!

 

*Jack Sparrow has not approved this recipe. Although if he did, I imagine he would eat them all and then ask, “but why are the rum brownies gone?”

One thought on “B-B-Buttered Rum Brownies

  1. Pingback: The C-cret to a Creme Brulee Tart – Baking Saturdays

Leave a Reply

